Wheel of the Year

To explain our calender to our Maximan I drew the Wheel of the Year on his blackboard.

We belief that there is no real beginning or end to a year. That life runs in cycles. The Pagan calender of Sabbats and Esbats reflect this belief. However, for convenience among friends and family who are not Pagans, we do celebrate new year. And for our own convenience we mark Samhain as the ending of one year and the beginning of another.

The Annual Holidays – The Sabbats

The Sabbats, or Solar Celebrations, occur at the Beginning and middle of each season. The wheel of the Year, shown above, lists the eight Sabbats. The Wheel is normally read clockwise from the top.

Yule, Ostara, Litha, and Mabon shift their dates slightly from year to year. This is because they occur on the Solar Equinoxes and Solstices. The Equinoxes are the beginning of Spring and Autumn. These are the days of the year when day and night are of equal length. Summer Solstice has the longest day of the year. Winter Solstice has the longest night.

Dates of the Sabbats in the Pagan Calender from 2012
Dates that Stay the Same Every Year
2012-2020February 2May 1July 30October 31
Dates that Change from Year to Year
2012March 20June 20September 22December 21

Monthly Rituals – The Esbats

In addition to the Solar Celebrations, We hold rituals under the Full Moon. These are called Esbats. We keep these generally more private, more to ourselves, than the Sabbats.

Dates of the Esbats in 2012
January 9February 7March 8April 6May 6
June 4July 3August 2August 31September 30
October 29November 28December 28
Please follow and like us: